The Academy reveals the winning Nicholl screenwriters in 2021

Five people have been selected as winners of the 2021 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. Fellows will each receive an award of $ 35,000 and mentorship from an Academy member throughout their fellowship year. From November 8 to 12, one scholar per day will be featured on the Academy’s YouTube channel, in content including conversations with filmmakers Destiny Daniel Cretton, Phil Lord, Notre Dame J, Rawson Marshall Thurber, and Olivia wilde.

See an overview HERE.

The 2021 winners are (listed in alphabetical order of author):

Haley Hope Bartels (Los Angeles, CA), “Pumping Black”
After a desperate cyclist accepts a dangerous offer from a team doctor, he looks set to win the Tour de France. But as the race progresses and his jealous teammates, suspicious authorities and his own paranoia draw closer, he must take increasingly dark steps to protect both his secrets and his lead.

Karin dela Peña Collison (West Hollywood, California), “Coming of Age”
In 1965, in Britain, Charlotte, a studious and protected schoolgirl, landed on a British Farce tour that her mother runs on stage, where private lessons from company members replace her formal schooling, with success. surprisingly, and she experiences Lolita-style flirtation in the morally wobbly world. the era of Free Love, which leads her and her mother to “come of age”.

Byron Hamel (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada), “The grapefruit shade”
When a severely abused white boy befriends his sci-fi obsessed black landlady, his fantasy of becoming a robot allows him to recklessly confront his murderous stepfather.

RJ Daniel Hanna (Los Angeles, CA), “Animal Shelter”
A spirited prison administrator working at the county animal shelter finds purpose in rehabilitating an abused pit bull, but her attempts to rally staff and the wider community for shelter reform put her own freedom at risk.

Laura Kosann (New York, NY), “The Ideal Woman”
Set in the American suburbs during the Cuban Missile Crisis: A 1960s ex-actress and housewife discovers that her house of cards world begins to crumble as she continues to be faced with two identities.

A record 8,191 scripts from 89 countries were submitted for this year’s competition. The first and quarterfinals were judged by industry professionals, including graduates of the Academy’s Diverse Reader Training Workshop, a free benchmark program uniquely created to train people from under-represented communities to become story analysts. The semi-final was judged by members of the Academy across the spectrum of the film industry. Ten individual writers were selected as finalists. Their scripts were then read and judged by the Nicholl Academy scholarship committee, which ultimately elected the winners.

The 2021 finalists are (listed in alphabetical order of author):

Adam everett, “Aurora”
Takeo hori, “American infamy”
Michel Ouzas, “Third man”
Jesse White, “Fortress”
Aaron C. Wong, “Garamba”

The scholarships are awarded on the understanding that the recipients will each produce a feature film script during their scholarship year. The Academy does not acquire any rights in the works of Nicholl Fellows and does not become commercially involved in any way with their completed scripts.

The Nicholl Academy scholarship committee is chaired by the governor of the Academy’s Short Films and Animation Branch. Jennifer yuh nelson. Committee members are John bailey and Steven poster (Directorate General of Filmmakers); Guillaume Mechanic (Executive management); Jacques Plannette and Stephen ujlaki (Non-executive members); Julia chasman, Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro (Producers Directorate); Bobbi Banks (Sound Branch); and Eric Heisserer, Larry karaszewski, Dan Petrie Jr., Misan Sagay and Dana stevens (Writers’ branch).

The global competition, which aims to identify and nurture talented new screenwriters, has awarded 171 scholarships since its launch in 1986. In 2021, several former Nicholl Fellows added to their feature film and television credits:

  • Alfredo botello co-wrote the story for Universal Pictures’ F9: The quick saga.
  • Allison and Nicolas buckmelterNicholl’s screenplay, “American Refugee,” will debut on EPIX and Paramount Home Entertainment on December 10.
  • Destin Daniel Cretton directed and co-wrote, with a colleague Andrew Lanham, Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and the legend of the ten rings.
  • Anthony GriecoNicholl’s award-winning script, “Best Sellers,” released by Screen Media and the stars Michael caine and Aubrey Square.
  • Matt harrisThe script of the year for scholarship, “The Starling,” was released by Netflix and the stars Melissa McCarthy.
  • Geeta Malik wrote and directed “India Sweets and Spices”, which debuted at the Tribeca Film Festival. The film was adapted from his winning screenplay by Nicholl, “Dinner with Friends”.
  • Andrew W. Marlowe and Terri edda miller are executive producers and showrunners of CBS ‘second season of “The Equalizer”, with Queen latifah.
  • Stephanie Shannon was executive editor and writer on the Apple TV + augmented reality experience “For All Mankind: Time Capsule,” which won an Emmy for Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming.
  • Rebecca sonnenshine was the executive producer and screenwriter of an Amazon Prime episode The boys who was nominated for an Emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series. She is currently playing on Netflix Archives 81.

For more information on the Nicholl Academy Scholarships in Screenwriting, you can visit the official Oscars website.